Takuma Sato Wins 2020 Indy 500 Ahead of Scott Dixon

Takuma Sato Wins 2020 Indy 500 Ahead of Scott Dixon

Well, as expected, the 2020 edition of Indy 500 turned out to be one of the most unforgettable races amid the COVID-19 pandemic, which almost had the Greatest Spectacle in Racing canceled due to fears of the coronavirus.

Earlier on, the event was postponed following spiking new coronavirus cases in the Indiana State from its traditional May date to August 23 to put the fans, spectators, and community health safety first.

Despite the event making history in the Indy 500 for having no fans and spectators in attendance, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway was empty with no rowdy revers. Still, the sound of engines occupied the silence as racers competed for the 2020 Indy 500 glory.  

With big names lining up to clinch the victory in this year Indy 500, made the Greatest Spectacle in Racing undoubtedly hardest to predict who would win. Especially with the likes of;

Fernando Alonso, who was after the motorsport’s triple crown but failed to make history as the second man after Graham Hill to have won the Monaco Grand Prix, Le Mans 24 hours, and Indy 500. 

Alexander Rossi came very close in winning before being reprimanded for an unsafe release in the pits and resulting in a penalty that saw him go to the back of the field. And later on, he crashed as he tried to get at the front. Amazingly, the 2016 Indy 500 winner seems to be okay with no significant injuries.

Scott Dixon, who was eyeing for the second Indianapolis 500 win since winning it in 2008, failed to emerge victories again, settling for the second place behind the 2020 Indy winner.

Simon Pagenaud was unfortunate to win the Indy 500 this year after finishing 22, and clearly, the last year Indy 500 winner could not match up against the other racers.

Takuma Sato is the current 2020 Indy 500 winner and the 2017 Indy 500 winner, becoming the 20th racer to win more than once at the Indy 500 by doing so, it helped him in crafting his name on the history list of other great racers at the Indianapolis 500 who have won twice, thrice and even four times.

Sato claimed the Indy 500 win after overtaking Scott Dixon, who at the moment was the long-time leading driver in a tense and dramatic 200-lap race at the Brickyard.

After the IndyCar officials refuted throwing a red flag following a massive crash from Spencer Pigot with just a few laps remaining, the crash site was a debris field as Pigot required immediate medical attention was no way the race could have resumed without a stoppage.

Unfortunately, the IndyCar officials didn’t throw the flag enabling Sato to led against Dixon across the finish line under yellow and ultimately won under caution. Undoubtedly, the race will be one to remember for years to come for having taken place amid the COVID-19 pandemic and without any fans or spectators in attendance.

Nelson Richards is a Seasoned Journalist with nearly 6 years of experience. While studying at Case Western Reserve University, Located at Cleveland. Nelson found a passion for finding and writing articles which are published in Well known Media Publications such as Tnt Publications and Ohio News Network. As a contributor to Chroniclex Nelson Covers National Topics.

Share this post